top of page

I didn't see


I'm sorry I couldn't protect you,

When you needed me most

I'm sorry you lay frightened,

Even when we moved to a different coast.

A mother's worst nightmare has befallen me,

The fear that's taken hold, was not your destiny

The shadow that lurked - that took - that preyed -

Evil personified, and one that has stayed.

My heart aches for you,

My heart breaks for you,

I'm helpless and angry...if only I knew...

You're a victim, but a victor and I'm proud to call you mine.

You're still my baby girl even though you've said you're fine.

I wish I could wipe away the hurt, the tears that you have cried,

After you told me - there's a part of me that's died.

Distance kept me from you, I could not hold you tight,

I won't be there to comfort you in the middle of the night.

So helpless and numb, I don't know what to do

The only thing that's real right now is how much love I have for you.

I'm sorry you went through this and endured it for so long...

I'm sorry I didn't see the signs... I feel I did you wrong.©


bottom of page